Thursday, August 13, 2009

Princess Grace Award Winners Announced

On August 11 the Board of Trustees of the Princess Grace Foundation in New York announced this year's winners of the 2009 Princess Grace Awards for theater, dance and film. This foundation was established to carry on the legacy of Princess Grace who often helped new and unknown talent trying to get their foot in the door of "show business". The winners, 22 in all, will be flown to New York City in October for the Princess Grace Awards Gala where they will be officially presented with their awards in the presence of HSH Prince Albert II. According to the press release the winners "exemplify both classical and alternative artistic disciplines". Their prize money will go to helping pay for their continued artistic education, be it theater or dance schools and to fund thesis film projects. The award itself this year was designed by Alex Soldier.

This Award includes a $25,000 gift and a Bronze Statue of Princess Grace created by Dutch artist Kees Verkade. This year's Statue Award winners are Brian Kulick, Artistic Director of Classic Stage Company, and Gillian Murphy, Principal Dancer at American Ballet Theatre.
PGF-USA, a public charity, was formed after the death of Princess Grace in 1982. For more infortion look over to the links section and visit the website of the Princess Grace Foundation USA.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...